AFLIA
AFLIA
AFLIA
AFLIA
AFLIA
Governance Structure

AfLIA is managed under the general guidelines of the Constitution and the Bye-Laws. The governing body of the Association is the Council, which shall have power to act on behalf of the Association, in all matters except those reserved in the constitution to members at an Annual or Special General Meeting. In addition, there shall be Committees and Sections of the Association as provided in the Bye-laws.

The constitution can be downloaded from the link below:

AfLIA Constitution
Télécharger Constitution
Constituiçã

AFLIA The Sections are:

  1. National Library Associations
  2. Academic Libraries
  3. Public /Community Libraries
  4. National Libraries
  5. Special Libraries / Information & Documentation Centres
  6. School libraries
  7. Library and Information Education / Training Institutions
  8. National Library Consortia
  9. Libraries in Diaspora

The Governing Council is made up of:

  1. President
  2. Vice President
  3. Immediate Past President
  4. One elected representative from each of the five regions of Africa- Central, East, North, South, West
  5. One elected representative from Portuguese speaking Africa
  6. One elected representative from French speaking West Africa
  7. Chairpersons of the Sections
  8. Executive Director
AFLIA Governing Council 2017 -2019

PRESIDENT – Mr. John Tsebe – tsebejohn@gmail.com
VICE PRESIDENT – Mr Mandla Ntombela – mandla.mtombela@gmail.com ; mandla.ntombela@msunduzi.gov.za
Executive Director - Dr. Helena Asamoah-Hassan – hrah@aflia.net

Central Africa - Mr. Alim Garga – a_garga@yahoo.fr
East Africa - Dr. Sarah Kaddu – sarkaddu@yahoo.com
North Africa - Ms. Rania Shaarawy – rania.shaarawy@bibalex.org
Southern Africa – Mrs. Segemetsi Molawa – molawasegametsi@gmail.com ; smolawa@hsrc.ac.za
West Africa - Mrs. Matilda Johnson – memmeh58@gmail.com
French Speaking West Africa - Mr. Antonin Benoit Diouf – antoninbenoit@gmail.com
Portuguese Speaking Africa – Mr. Iaguba Djalo – idjalo@gmail.com

Academic and Special Libraries - Mrs. Nthabiseng Kotsokoane – nthabiseng.kotsokoane@monash.edu
Education and Training Institutions - Dr. Bernard Dione – bernard.dione@ucad.edu.sn ; bernard.dione@gmail.com
Library Consortia – Mr. Jasper Lee Maenzanise – jmaenzanise@hit.ac.zw

National Library Associations - Mrs. Velenasi Mwale Munsanje – velenasim@gmail.com
National Libraries - Prof. Rocky Ralebipi – Simela – ralebipir@nlsa.ac.za
Public Libraries – Dr. Nkem Osuigwe – drnkemosuigwe@gmail.com ; nkemekene@ymail.com

Business Development - Co-opted - Dr. Buhle Mbambo-Thata – buhlebmt@aflia.net
Chairperson, IFLA Africa Section – Dr. Rosemary Shafack – roshafack@yahoo.com ; roshafack@gmail.com
African Public Libraries Network - Co-opted – Ms. Gertrude Mulindwa – gkmulindwa@aflia.net
Secretary to the Council – Ms. Doreen Appiah – programofficer@aflia.net

Officers Of Library Type Sections 2017 -2019

Chairperson - Mrs. Nthabiseng Kotsokoane – nthabiseng.kotsokoane@monash.edu
Vice Chairperson
Secretary
Organising / Publicity Secretary

Chairperson - Dr. Bernard Dione – bernard.dione@ucad.edu.sn ; bernard.dione@gmail.com
Vice Chairperson
Secretary
Organising / Publicity Secretary

Chairperson - Prof. Rocky Ralebipi – Simela – ralebipir@nlsa.ac.za
Vice Chairperson
Organising / Publicity Secretary (Anglophone)
Organising / Publicity Secretary (Francophone)

National Library Associations - Mrs. Velenasi Mwale Munsanje – velenasim@gmail.com
Vice Chairperson
Secretary
Organising/ Publicity Secretary

Public Libraries – Dr. Nkem Osuigwe – drnkemosuigwe@gmail.com ; nkemekene@ymail.com

Vice Chairperson
Secretary
Organising / Publicity Secretary

Library Consortia – Mr Jasper Lee Maenzanise – jmaenzanise@hit.ac.zw
Vice Chairperson
Secretary
Organising / Publicity Secretary