AFLIA
AFLIA
AFLIA
AFLIA
AFLIA
Governance Structure

AfLIA is managed under the general guidelines of the Constitution and the Bye-Laws. The governing body of the Association is the Council, which shall have power to act on behalf of the Association, in all matters except those reserved in the constitution to members at an Annual or Special General Meeting. In addition, there shall be Committees and Sections of the Association as provided in the Bye-laws.

The constitution can be downloaded from the link below:

AfLIA Constitution
Télécharger Constitution
Constituiçã

AFLIA The Sections are:

  1. National Library Associations
  2. Academic Libraries
  3. Public /Community Libraries
  4. National Libraries
  5. Special Libraries / Information & Documentation Centres
  6. School libraries
  7. Library and Information Education / Training Institutions
  8. National Library Consortia
  9. Libraries in Diaspora

The Governing Council is made up of:

  1. President
  2. Vice President
  3. Immediate Past President
  4. One elected representative from each of the five regions of Africa- Central, East, North, South, West
  5. One elected representative from Portuguese speaking Africa
  6. One elected representative from French speaking West Africa
  7. Chairpersons of the Sections
  8. Executive Director
AFLIA Governing Council 2015 -2017
PRESIDENT – Mr. John Tsebe – tsebejohn@gmail.com
Executive Director - Dr. Helena Asamoah-Hassan – maadwoa2000@yahoo.com


Regional Representatives

Central Africa - Mr. Alim Garga – a_garga@yahoo.fr
East Africa - Mrs. Jacinta Were – jo_were@yahoo.com
North Africa - Mrs. Abdel Hadir Shawki Mohamed Hamid – hshady@gmail.com
Southern Africa – Mrs. Segemetsi Molawa – molawasegametsi@gmail.com ; smolawa@hsrc.ac.za
West Africa - Dr. Rose Okiy – rosebiniokiy@gmail.com ; rosebini@yahoo.com
French Speaking West Africa - Mrs. Cecile Coulibaly – bsmucocody@yahoo.fr ; ouattara.cecile@gmail.com
Portuguese Speaking Africa – Mr. Iaguba Djalo – idjalo@gmail.com


Section Chairpersons

Academic Libraries - Ms. Ujala Satgoor – u.satgoor@ru.ac.za
Educational Institutions - Prof. I. Kigongo Bukenya – ikigongobukenya@yahoo.com
National Library Associations - Mrs. Segemetsi Molawa – molawasegametsi@gmail.com ; smolawa@hsrc.ac.za
National Libraries - Prof. Rocky Ralebipi – Simela – ralebipir@nlsa.ac.za
Public and Community Libraries – Mr. Mandla Ntombela – mandla.ntombela@gmail.com ; mandla.ntombela@msunduzi.gov.za


Ex-Officio

Projects Development - Dr. Buhle Mbambo-Thata – mbambtb@unisa.ac.za
Chairperson, IFLA Africa Section – Dr. Rosemary Shafack – roshafack@yahoo.com ; roshafack@gmail.com

Officers Of Library Type Sections 2015 -2017

Chairperson – Ms. Ujala Satgoor – South Africa – u.satgoor@ru.ac.za ; ujala.satgoor@gmail.com
Vice Chairperson - Mr. Mandiaye Ndiaye - Senegal
Secretary – Mr. ​Mesfin Gezahegn Abera - Ethiopia
Organising / Publicity Secretary – Mr. Richard Lamptey - Ghana – phanerosis75@yahoo.com

Chairperson – Prof. I. Kigongo Bukenya - Uganda – ikigongobukenya@yahoo.com
Vice Chairperson - Prof. Zakari Mohammed - Nigeria – zakmoh2000@yahoo.com
Secretary – Dr. Angela Totolo - Botswana – totoloa@mopipi.ub.bw
Organising / Publicity Secretary - Dr. Bernard Dione - Senegal – bernard.dione@gmail.com ; bernard.dione@ucad.edu.sn

Chairperson – Prof. Rocky Ralebipi – Simela – South Africa – ralebipir@nlsa.ac.za
Vice Chairperson – Mr Richard Atuti - Kenya – rmatuti@yahoo.com ; richard.atuti@knls.ac.ke
Organising / Publicity Secretary (Anglophone) - Mr. Gray Lesten Nyali – Malawi – graynyali@gmail.com
Organising / Publicity Secretary (Francophone) - Alcindo De Sousa – Quaresma-Sao Tome & Principe – alcindosousa@outlook.pt

Chairperson - Mrs. Segemetsi Molawa – South Africa– molawasegametsi@gmail.com ; smolawa@hsrc.ac.za
Vice Chairperson – Mr. Jasper Lee Maenzanise - Zimbabwe – jmaenzanise@hit.ac.zw
Secretary – Ms. Purity Kaveru - Kenya – puritykvr81@gmail.com
Organising/ Publicity Secretary - Mrs. Comfort Asare - Ghana – comfortakwa@yahoo.com

Chairperson – Mr. Mandla Ntombela – South Africa – mandla.ntombela@gmail.com ; mandla.ntombela@msunduzi.gov.za
Vice Chairperson – Dr. Nkem Osuigwe - Nigeria – nkemekene@ymail.com
Secretary – Mr. Wenceslas Mahoussi – Republic of Benin – gmahoussi@gmail.com
Organising / Publicity Secretary - Ms. Mary Kiyanjui - Kenya – mary.kinyanjui@knls.ac.ke

Chairperson – Mr. Jasper Maenzanise – Zimbabwe jmaenzanise@hit.ac.zw
Vice Chairperson – Dr. Joel Sam - Ghana egy28@yahoo.co.uk
Secretary – Ms. Sylvia Ogola – Kenya sogola@usiu.ac.ke
Organising / Publicity Secretary Mr. Eriya Ntaga – Uganda ntagaeriya@gmail.com